The Godavari River rises from Trimbakeshwar in the Nashik district of Maharashtra. The total length of Godavari from its origin to outfall into the Bay of Bengal is 1,465 km. The Godavari basin extends over states of Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha in addition to smaller parts in Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka and Union territory of Puducherry.  The basin is bounded by Satmala hills, the Ajanta range and the Mahadeo hills on the north, by the Eastern Ghats on the south and the east and by the Western Ghats on the west. the Godavari river is the largest in peninsular India, and had been dubbed as the Vridha Ganga or the Old Ganga.

Major tributaries of the Godavari

Tributaries joining from right

The Pravara rises in the Western Ghats flowing in an easterly direction falls into the Godavari with its drainage area falling entirely in Maharashtra.

The Manjra rises in the Balaghat Range of hills flowing in a general east-south-east direction. The principal tributaries of the Manjra are the Tirna, the Karanga and the Haldi joining it from right and the Lendi and the Maner which join from the left.

Tributaries joining from left

The Purna rises in the Ajanta Range of hills flowing in a south-easterly direction joins the Godavari. Of its tributaries, the longest is the Dudna. The chief tributaries of the Purna on the south bank are the Pendhi, Uma, Katepurna, Nirguna and Man.

 The Pranhita is the largest tributary of the Godavari.It conveys the combined waters of the Penganga, the Wardha and the Wainganga and below its confluence with the Manjira it falls into Godavari.

The Waingnaga  the wainganga originates from mahadeo hills in Madhya Pradesh, the bheemgarh dam also known as the upper wainganga dam Is on it  in seoni  Madhya Pradesh. It flow through Kahna national park.

The Indravati rises on the western slopes of Eastern Ghats in the Kalahandi district, flows through the central part of the Dankaranya region, with its catchment in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha rises at an altitude of 915 m, joins the river Godavari. Its important tributaries are the Narangi, the Boardhig, the Kotari, the Nibra and the Bandia on the right and the Nandiraj and the Dantewara on the left.

The Kolab rises at an altitude of 1372 m in the Sinkaram hill ranges of the Eastern Ghats, drains the southern uplands of the Dandakaranya region. The Machkund or Sileru, a major tributory of tha Sabari rises at an altitude of 1220 m joins above the confluence of Kolab and Godavari. The Kanger and Malengar are the two other important tributaries of the Sabari.







Seoni  Madhyapradesh

Singur Dam



Nizam Sagar



Yeldari Dam

Purna river


Jayakwadi Dam






Wardha Dam

Wardha Dam


Muchkund Dam

Machkund River


Karanjwan dam

Kadwa river






  • The Krishna River rises from the Western Ghats near Jor village Maharashtra just north of Mahabaleshwar in Satara district of Maharashtra.
  • Nagarjuna Sagar Dam is one of the world’s largest and tallest[2] Masonry dams built across the Krishna river at Nagarjuna Sagar which is in Nalgonda District, Telangana State.


  • Its principal tributaries
    • joining from right are the Ghatprabha, the Malprabha and the Tungabhadra
    • joining from left are the Bhima, the Musi and the Munneru

The largest tributary of the Krishna River is the Tungabhadra, but the longest tributary is the Bhima River,


The Bheema river

It originates from bhimasankar hills in pune district Maharastra. Also known as chandrabhaga. There is total 22 dams have built on it and the Ujjani dam in solapur district is the biggest one of them. Bhima merges into the Krishna along the border between Karnataka and Telangana about 24 km north of Raichur


The Tungabhadra river

The Tungabhadra River is formed by the confluence of the Tunga River and the Bhadra River at Koodli in Shimoga District, Karnataka. The ruins Hampi capital of the ancient vijayanagar empire is located on its banks. Tungabhadra Dam is across the river Tungabhadra near the town of Hosapete in Karnataka



  • The Cauvery River rises at Talakaveri on the Brahmagiri range near Cherangala village of Kodagu district of Karnataka.
  • States in the Kaveri drain, are Tamil Nadu and Puducherry , Karnataka
  • Kaveri is the only perennial river of south india
  • Mettur dam that was built over the Kaveri river creates Stanley reservoir in Tamilnadu.
  • Krishna raja sagar in Karnataka is another dam that was built over the Kaveri river.

  • important tributaries

    • joining from left are the Harangi, the Hemavati, the Shimsha and the Arkavati.
    • the Lakshmantirtha, the Kabbani, the Suvarnavati, the Bhavani, the Noyil and the Amaravati joins from right


Categories: Geography

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *